I just bought a new book, which is totally one of my guilty pleasures. Nah, scratch the guilty, it is just pure pleasure, and I do not feel guilty about it. I mean, books just make your life better. Anyways, the book I brought home from the book store, or, as I like to call it, my personal library is from Vargas Llosa. But, today, I am here to write about another book. One by Alexander McCall, an African writer and law professor, who was born in Zimbabwe, lives in Scotland and plays the basson . The book, as you may have guessed form the title, is called Friends, Lovers, Chocolate. The book is part of the series The Sunday Philosophy Club, that features Isabel Dalhousie and her adventures.

I am really liking it, because it is such an easy reading, Isabel, the main character has really great insights, which makes the book even more enchanting. I find myself reading page after page with a smile on my lips. It is funny, simple, inteligent and makes you fall in love with Edinburgh, without ever even seeing it.

“But don’t we often lie to people we love, or not tell them things, precisely because we love them?”
― Alexander McCall Smith, Friends, Lovers, Chocolate

The book tells the story of Isabel Dalhousie, the editor of an Ethics magazine, and her philosophical issues, her interests and a mystery that envolves a heart transplant. The book has the power to make you fall in love with the characters, specially with Isabel. I am always eager to find out what will be her next move to figure out the mystery, or her next ethical problem.

It has truly been a delight 🙂 and I will problably go after the rest of McCall Books. I hope you like it too!

“What is beauty, she thought, but the promise of happiness, as Stendhal said it was?”
― Alexander McCall Smith, Friends, Lovers, Chocolate

Leave a Reply

