TheBookThief

The movie, directed by Brian Percival, was so good. Even though,  I confess I had a shock when I heard a male voice as the narator,  for me Death was a woman. With a seductive voice,  who told Liesel’s story with a smile on her lips.

I read the book a long time ago,  but it marked me . Cause it is such a well told story with a fresh and original perspective. I loved Liesel and her love for books and her father with his smile,  his humanism and his music. And Ruby, for racing and stealing with Liesel and making her life nicer. And of course Max.  Max is the star of the story, helping Liesel to write, asking her to describe the day.

The movie reminded me of all that,  but it also reminded me of my trip last July when i got to see the concentration camps. The movie threw me, a little bit,  back to the camps. I guess that is why I cried so much. Even though I believe I cried reading the book also.  That phrase Rosa says to Hans after he tries to disuade the guards from taking one of his neighbors “You reminded them they are people”, summarizes everythin the Second World War meant. And Liesel and her family were the humans who tried to remind everyone that they were humans too.

“He was the crazy one who had painted himself black and defeated the world.

She was the book thief without the words.

Trust me, though, the words were on their way, and when they arrived, Liesel would hold them in her hands like the clouds, and she would wring them out like rain.”
― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

Leave a Reply

